In accordance with the Conference Bylaws, there are several committees that manage the business of the ACM FAccT Conference and shape its trajectory.

Executive Committee

The ACM FAccT Executive Committee is responsible for high-level management of the conference. This includes soliciting bids for future conference locations and General Chairs; selecting Program Committee Chairs; providing institutional knowledge and support as necessary for conference organizers; organizing votes for the Steering Committee; and undertaking strategic initiatives. Executive Committee members typically serve a single two-year term.

Current Members

  • Solon Barocas, Cornell University
  • Sorelle Friedler, Haverford College
  • Timnit Gebru, Google
  • Brent Hecht, Northwestern University
  • Kristian Lum, Human Rights Data Analysis Group
  • Suresh Venkatasubramanian, University of Utah
  • Christo Wilson, Northeastern University

Steering Committee

The ACM FAccT Steering Committee is responsible for representing the interests of the ACM FAccT community, shaping the future trajectory of the conference, and deciding substantive matters related to the conference. This includes approving conference locations and key personnel; approving new members of the Executive Committee; amending the conference bylaws; etc. Steering Committee members may serve two two-year terms.

Current Members

  • Aws Albarghouthi, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Solon Barocas, Cornell University
  • Bettina Berendt, KU Leuven
  • danah boyd, Microsoft Research and Data & Society Research Institute
  • Margaret Burnett, Oregon State
  • Ryan Calo, University of Washington
  • Carlos Castillo, Universitat Pompeu Fabra
  • Hal Daumé, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Anupam Datta, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Maarten de Rijke, University of Amsterdam
  • Fernando Diaz, Microsoft Research
  • Cynthia Dwork, Harvard University
  • Michael Ekstrand, Boise State
  • Ed Felten, Princeton University
  • Sorelle Friedler, Haverford College
  • Timnit Gebru, Microsoft Research
  • Sharad Goel, Stanford University
  • Seda Guerses, KU Leuven
  • Krishna Gummadi, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems
  • Sara Hajian, NTENT
  • Moritz Hardt, University of California, Berkeley
  • Brent Hecht, Northwestern University
  • Dirk Hovy, University of Copenhagen
  • Bill Howe, University of Washington
  • Michael Kearns, University of Pennsylvania
  • Been Kim, Google
  • Jon Kleinberg, Cornell University
  • Joshua Kroll, University of California, Berkeley
  • Zachary Lipton, University of California, San Diego
  • Kristian Lum, Human Rights Data Analysis Group
  • Gerome Miklau, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Alan Mislove, Northeastern University
  • Margaret Mitchell, Google
  • Arvind Narayanan, Princeton University
  • Alexandra Olteanu, IBM Research
  • Salvatore Ruggieri, University of Pisa
  • Carlos Scheidegger, University of Arizona
  • Amit Sharma, Microsoft Research
  • Nathan Srebro, Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago
  • Julia Stoyanovich, Drexel University
  • Suresh Venkatasubramanian, University of Utah
  • Hanna Wallach, Microsoft Research
  • Christo Wilson, Northeastern University
  • Jenn Wortman Vaughan, Microsoft Research

Diversity & Inclusion Chairs

One of the key strategic goals of the ACM FAccT Conference is promoting diversity and inclusion. The work of the ACM FAccT Diversity & Inclusion Chairs is to help achieve this goal by working closely with all of the conference organizers, including the General Chairs, Program Committee Chairs, and Executive Committee. Diversity & Inclusion Chairs may serve two two-year terms.

Current Members

  • Aniko Hannak, University of Zurich

Sponsorship Chairs

One key tactic for achieving the diversity and inclusion goals of the ACM FAccT Conference is keeping registration costs very low, so that cost is not a hardship for those wishing to attend. The work of the ACM FAccT Sponsorship Chairs is to raise funds that can be used to offset conference costs and provide grants for conference attendees. They are responsible for cultivating new sponsors and maintaining relationships with existing sponsors. Furthermore, the Sponsorship Chairs are responsible for ensuring that new sponsors align with the strategic vision laid out in the Strategic Plan, and for communicating conference policy with sponsors. Sponsorship Chairs may serve two two-year terms.

Current Members

  • Kristian Lum, Human Rights Data Analysis Group
  • Bendert Zevenbergen, Princeton and Oxford Internet Institute
Please contact for any questions.