ACM FAccT is pleased to offer a number of opportunities for volunteers, who are vital to the efficient operation and continued success of the conference each year. The volunteer program is a chance to participate in the conference and directly engage with community members while assisting us in preparing and running the event.

This call is open to anyone. We especially welcome students doing research on fairness, accountability, and transparency at all levels and across all disciplines to apply. There is no need to have a paper accepted at the conference to participate, and no previous attendance experience is required. Since the conference this year will be in-person, with some online elements, you can support us in multiple ways.

Volunteering can also help those otherwise unable to attend the conference by covering conference fees; those who volunteer for at least 4 hours will have their entire conference registration fee waived.

This year, we have a number of volunteering opportunities. If you are selected, you will agree to:

  • Help with the conference for at least 4 hours
  • Show up on time to your assigned tasks

Furthermore, this year, the Diversity and Inclusion Chairs, Volunteer Chairs, Accessibility Chairs, and Financial Support chairs worked to streamline our processes so that participants who apply for multiple types of financial support do not have to re-enter the same information in multiple places.

To apply to be a volunteer, you must submit your interest via the Participant Support Form (under "Financial support eligibility") by April 12, 2024, at 11:59 pm anywhere on Earth.

If you are applying to volunteer but not requesting other types of financial support, you must still use the above form. Ensure that you select “G. I am applying to be a student volunteer” under “Financial support eligibility”, and detail your interest in volunteering under “Statement of interest - general and volunteering”.

We look forward to your application! You may send any questions you have to

Volunteer Co-Chairs:

  • Cedric Whitney, University of California, Berkeley
  • Usman Gohar, Iowa State University